top of page

Russian diplomats are declared Persona Non-Grata for several European countries today

Russian diplomats are being expelled from several European countries today. This unexpected decision is made since Monday morning by the governments of Germany, France, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands, as well as non-EU member Ukraine.

Albania’s foreign minister, Ditmir Bushati, informed today morning the Russian Ambassador, Alexander Karpushin that two of the 28 Russian diplomats are declared Persona Non-Grata for Albania country because their activity is not compliant with their diplomatic status.

Bushati statement didn’t mention the similar expulsions of Russian diplomats by other countries, coming on the surface earlier this month by the attack of the nerve agent in the UK for whom British Prime Minister, Theresa, support that was "highly likely" orchestrated by the Russian government.

Prime Minister of Albania, Edi Rama, earlier this morning said the expulsions had been coordinated with fellow NATO countries and that “Russians who trod on the national interest will leave”.

The United States said on Monday it would expel 60 Russian diplomats, joining governments across Europe in punishing the Kremlin for a nerve agent attack on a former Russian spy in Britain that they have blamed on Moscow.

U.S. and EU to expel more than 100 Russian diplomats on Monday over UK nerve attack.

bottom of page